The Association for Qualitative Research
The Hub of Qualitative Excellence

AQR Qualitative Excellence Award 2017

Now in its 15th year, the AQR Prosper Riley-Smith Qualitative Excellence Award is recognised as the UK's premium Qualitative Research Award. The winner, Oliver Sweet of Ipsos MORI is presented with the award. Left to right, Susan Calman, Oliver Sweet (IPSOS), Helle Thorsen (IPSOS), Sebastien Lion (Mars Petcare), and Simon Patterson (AQR).

The Winner

Shift The Mix: How cultural intelligence helped pets around the world, by Oliver Sweet, Ipsos MORI

This year's winner, Shift the Mix: How Cultural Intelligence helped Pets around the World, is both an excellent example of how Qualitative research can reveal deep Customer Truths, and is also an example of how Qualitative Research is being increasingly valued and respected, by even the most data driven corporations, leading to significant category growth.

The Judges Said

"This year we had excellent examples of how video has become a crucial part of multi-disciplinary Qualitative Insight, with the winner revealing a deep Customer Truth."

The Runners Up

ECB Cricket Unleashed
Gurpinder Sidhu and Emma Bennett, Sky UK Ltd

The Apprentice: The Real Winner in the Boardroom
Rhiannon Price and Daniel Tralman, Northstar Research and James Livingston, Jaguar Landrover

The 2017 Judging Panel

We would like to thank very much this year's distinguished Judging Panel from across the industry for their valuable time and support of this prestigious Award.

Simon Patterson
Chair of the Judging Panel, QRi Consulting, AQR Board

Richard Drury
Walgreens Boots Alliance, Vice Chair of AURA

Jane Frost CBE
CEO of the MRS

Helen James
npower Business, Chair of AURA

Sarah Jenkins
Magenta Research, AQR Board

Tom Kerr
Treasurer of AURA

Sarah Newman
Director of the APG

Finn Raben
Director General of ESOMAR

Peter Totman
Jigsaw Research, AQR Board