The Association for Qualitative Research
The Hub of Qualitative Excellence

The PRS Effectiveness Award Winner 2007

This year’s Prosper Riley-Smith Effectiveness Award went to a project on London Underground by LU’s Ian Pring and Acacia Avenue’s Caroline Hayter Whitehill and Nitasha Kapoor. The £1,500 cheque was handed over at the MRS Awards dinner in November. An article about the winning project, written by Acacia Avenue, is available online:

The Winning Project: Acacia Avenue and London Underground

The judges agreed that the standard of this year’s entries was higher than ever before, making their task very tough. There were four runners up:

  • Discovery’s Trish Stuart Parker and Kate McEnery Evans
    Reveal Magazine

  • Firefish’s Jem Fawcus, Daniel Rose and Francesca Alberry
    BT Broadband

  • Opinion Leader’s Liz Owen

  • Rosenblatt’s Warren Lister and An Nguyen
    Castle Pubs

The response to this, the fifth year of the Awards, was such that they might be rethought in 2008. One of the judges was moved to say: "The only problem is there is still only one award and it feels to me that this isn’t enough to reflect what needs to be done to re-energise the industry and demonstrate the ‘width’ of talent available to clients." In the end it will be up to members whether there is enthusiasm for expanding the number of categories, but the experience of 2007 has given the organisers food for thought.